The Durban Downwind began its journey as Durban’s premier downwind surfski race in June 2014 when it hosted the South African Surfski Championships, ultimately won by Jasper Mocké and Nicole Russell respectively.Overview

In 2015 the race was added to the World Surfski Series calendar as a title race and with this came a new format of one race rather than a five-leg series, with a window period of two days.

This window period worked well and the wind blew 25 knots for the paddlers from around SA and abroad to enjoy during the S1 clash.

The race was won for the first time by a foreign paddler as Michael Booth from Australia clinched a nail biting finish with Dawid Mocke and Matthew Bouman finishing second and third in the closest race of the world series for the year and last year Hank McGregor put his name on the Durban Downwind title list in 2016.

Now in it’s forth year, organisers are looking forward to hosting international paddlers as well as many of South Africa’s best in a show case of downwind paddling, with the event also hosting the SA Single Surfski Champs.

With the awesome backing of title sponsor, FNB the event boasts an amazing R10 000 prize purse across its various age categories.

The format for 2017 will be a 26km race between La Mercy and Marine SLC with the course direction dependent on the wind direction on the day and the two-day window period giving organisers the best possible chance of taking advantage of the best available conditions on 24 and 25 June.

The singles and doubles races will take place simultaneously with the singles clash being the primary focus however doubles are still welcome at the event.

All content rights vest with the organisers of the Durban Downwind | A Gameplan Media website